Lunch is for Whimps

8 05 2013

“I run six-to-eight miles a day, plus weights and aerobics in the lunch hour.  I also lie a lot, which keeps me thin” ~Hugh Laurie

 

That quote has absolutely nothing to do with leadership, but it made me laugh out loud when I was looking for a tie-in to today’s comic, so I thought I’d share the laugh.

 OK, something just came to me.  After I got my MBA, I determined that it was time to “advance my career”.  I needed to network more, get on a board of directors, and volunteer in the community (all of which I’ve done). Then, because I didn’t notice any change in my career, I bought a book called “never eat alone” (feel free to borrow it), and about halfway through it, I thought “this is crap” (so maybe don’t borrow it!).  I don’t need to set lunch dates with people so I can network.  In fact, I almost never eat lunch.  At best I’ll scarf down a low-carb bar while working on a spreadsheet in the office. 

 I realized that the best way to be successful is to BE successful.  Work efficiently, make decisions as good as you can, build a great team, and be genuine, but most importantly, meet deadlines with good quality work, and ACHIEVE RESULTS.  IMHO (in my humble opinion), I can do more working through lunch (and showing that I’m good at what I do) than I can having a lunch with someone and trying to convince them that I’m good at what I do.  That doesn’t mean don’t ever have a business lunch, but “never eat alone” is over-the top salesmanship, not actually getting the job done (unless you are a salesman, I guess – maybe).  Measure me by my actions, not my words, and I’ll do the same for all of you. 

 By the way, your hourly staff don’t have a choice.  By law, they have to take a lunch.  🙂

Image

 

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

