Interview with your ears…

16 09 2013

“I don’t talk a lot when I interview.  My job is to get out of the way.” ~ Anna Deavere Smith

 I’m guilty of not doing this too well.  By the time a candidate gets to me, they’ve been vetted by the recruiter, by Tracy, and, potentially by others.  I have to keep my list of interview questions in front of me to force myself to stay on target.  Otherwise, I start “selling the company” to the interviewee, at the expense of learning more about them (i.e. if I even want them to “buy”). 

Keep that in mind.  I think the interviewee should be talking at least 75% of the time, but that rarely happens in interviews with me. 

Speaking  of Interviews…

Image

 

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

