Hey Boss, what about my great job?!?

20 09 2013

“The worst mistake a boss can make is to not say ‘well done’.” ~John Ashcroft

 I ask my Directors to share a few of their staff “kudos” with me every month.  I set at least one calendar appointment (after noon, to account for our Pacific staff) per month to call those front-line staff and say things like “You rock!” or “I heard you had an incredible “X metric” last month, that can’t possibly be true, can it?”.  Then I give them a chance to toot their own horn.  While letting the line staff know that they’re doing a great job might not be a required element of the job description, not doing so might be the worst mistake you can make, and you’ll hear about it (praise if you do, criticism if you don’t) from me or your director (see quote above).

 Think of it as the line-item in your (and all of our) job descriptions that says “all other duties as assigned”.   God, I love that line! 

 Speaking of Boss (or not)… 

Image

 

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

