Distance brings it’s own experience…

4 11 2013

“We should not judge people by their peak of excellence; but by the distance they have traveled from the point where they started.” ~Henry Ward Beecher

 You’re a new leader, and you hire an MBA right out of school, and pay them $70,000 per year.  You promote from within a consistently high performer for 10 years, and they make their way up to $60,000. Who is more valuable to you and the company?

 I’m not steering you one way or the other.  After all, I did get my MBA, but I’ve been here for 20 years.  My MBA gave me many great business insights & tools, and my experience gave me… well, experience.  What I’m saying is that both of these individuals will likely bring value to your team.  If I were you, and they worked for me, I’d put them on a team together, and let experience, plus a fresh view and different experience from business school case studies create something beautiful… They’ve traveled different roads, of different distances.  Don’t make snap judgments of their worth, and if you’re lucky, BOTH Of them will teach you valuable (and different) lessons.

 Speaking of Points…

Image

 

Rubes Cartoons used with permission.  www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

