Unpacking the Pack Rat

3 01 2014

“There are many things that we would throw away if we were not afraid that others might pick them up.” ~Oscar Wilde

 Having just moved all of my “stuff” from VA to GA, I can’t tell you how silly it felt to pay to move a bunch of stuff, only to pay to have it thrown away once I got here and my wife wouldn’t let me put it in back in a closet to gather dust.  While I’m a pack rat, she is the opposite, as her rule is “If I haven’t used it in a year, I give it to Goodwill or throw it away”.  The same should be said in business.  If you have reports, protocols, processes, referral codes, or whatever haven’t been needed or used in a  year, it’s time to consider throwing them away.  Things change.  Don’t keep doing stuff that nobody needs any longer, just because “it’s always been that way”. 

 I routinely drop a report out of my monthly distribution, and wait for someone to say “hey, you forgot that report”.  More often than not, nobody speaks up, and that report never gets run again.  🙂

 Speaking of getting (throwing) away… (sorry for the tenuous connection) – it’s Friday.

Image

Rubes Cartoons used with permission.  www.rubescartoons.com

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

