Don’t let boredom sap your soul…

20 03 2014

“Iron rusts from disuse; water loses its purity from stagnation… even so does inaction sap the vigor of the mind.” ~Leonardo da Vinci

I’ve worked myself into a role where I have the freedom to pursue interesting problems – at least some of the time.  However, I started as a front-line counselor 21 years ago, and worked my way up.  Even when I was a counselor, and my day was filled with one session after another, I tried to create novel solutions to client’s problems, or find one special thing about a client that we could chat about, to give them a positive focus for their energies.  This philosophy of mine isn’t just work related – My wife handed me a new guitar on my 38th birthday and said “learn this – you like music, and you’re getting bored and cranky”.  2 years later, I could play a few songs, and loved to improvise around the strings. About that time, she said, “you’re getting bored again, go get your MBA”, so I did.  J

No matter how routine your job is, try to find that special something that makes each day unique.  Walk around on your break and get to know a new co-worker.  Ask if you can cross-train in another department 4 hours per month.  Heck, click the Google doodle every day to find out something special about the day – (Today is the first day of Spring – someone worked hard on that animation).   Whatever it is, my advice to having a successful day, and loving your job just a little bit more, is to try something different each day. For inaction (or lack of change) will indeed sap the vigor of your mind.

Speaking of sap…

sap

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

