Mastering time = mastering leadership

30 04 2014

“Time = Life, Therefore, waste your time and waste your life, or master your time and master your life.” ~Alan Lakein

Since we’re talking math, my corollary here is “Time = Leadership success”.  Mastering time management skills means that you can minimize the amount of time necessary to do “your job”, maximizing the time you have to be a leader.

We all have e-mails to read & reply (see previous blog entry on streamlining your in-box).  We have reports to build, read, analyze, etc.  We have bills to authorize, pay, or negotiate contracts over.  We have projects to manage, programming to write, or whatever else it is that you do at “your job”.  Don’t forget to MAKE the time to lead a bit every day.  Walk the floor, mentor your best, help turn around your worst, make sure you don’t go home until you do whatever it is.  For me, my 4:30 calendar item every day is “Comic”.  I try my best to get it done in the morning when I’m fresh, but I don’t leave the office until this work is done.  May you enjoy today’s leadership kumbaya.  I’ll see some of you as I walk the floors today, or call you to give you a little praise, or whatever.  Lead on!

Speaking of master…

late

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

