Life Don’t Suck

12 05 2014

“Map out your future – but do it in pencil.  The road ahead is as long as you make it. Make it worth the trip.” ~ Jon Bon Jovi

Think back to your high school graduation.  What plans did you have?  What was your future going to bring?  What were you going to “DO” with your life?  I was going to be a doctor.  I took 2 years  of Latin, and went to college with a pre-med major.  Then came the “weed out course” called Zoology 210, and Psychology looked like a fabulous degree choice instead!

So, take a look at where you are now?  Did you plan to be here?  Good thing our lives are mapped out in pencil.  The question really is: are you happy with where you are now, and where your current trajectory is “penciled in”.  I can say “heck yeah”!  When I was 18, I had no idea how cool it would be to be a husband, father, and a leader in the nonprofit world.  I didn’t know how great it would be to walk the floor, and joke & smile with my employees, while helping the best & brightest find the next locations on their map.

My point is that if you can’t rejoice in the moment, maybe it’s time to pick up that pencil and start thinking about your 1-3 year plan.  I hope that most of us can indeed enjoy where we are, and what we’re doing.  We only get one life, and it would be a shame to have it be a miserable one.  So find those nuggets of joy that are all around you. So what if I’m not a doctor?!?!  Life don’t suck, and I hope you can say the same, or at least be able to pencil in a plan so that you are able to eventually make it worth the trip.

Speaking of a map…

dmap

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com


Actions

Information

Leave a comment