Set some time each day to work on the passionate part of your job.

29 08 2014

“I’m an early bird, partly because I like to have some quiet time, and partly because by 9am emails being arriving, the phone starts ringing and I have dragons to kill of one sort or another. “ ~Andrew Motion

This quote could just as easily have been about me.  I wake up in the 5:00am hour (admittedly, sometimes I snooze-button until 5:50), and I try really hard (Atlanta traffic has a lot to do with success/failure) to be in the office by 7:15-7:30.  This allows me to set aside time to do my best thinking.  I may work on a deep-dive data project, compose one of these leadership comics, or otherwise jump into something “chewy”.  While some of us have a need/schedule to come in later, that doesn’t mean you shouldn’t find at least an hour a day to do some deep thinking, instead of reactionary e-mail replying, answering the phone, etc. 

Setting aside that time of day is easier when you love your job, and you have the freedom to work on projects that really jazz you.  For me, that often involves a spreadsheet or  “leadership kumbaya”.  I know, I’m a geek, get used to it!  “Working hard for something we don’t care about is called stress.  Working hard for something we love is called passion.” ~(unknown author’s FaceBook post).  All I’m saying is to find that time every day to work on the passionate part of your job.  It’ll make the day that much better, and give you something to brag about to your boss. 

Speaking of early bird…

birdworm

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

 

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

