Working on being perfectly humble

6 05 2015

“My company survives because I’ve learned to respect the ideas of people younger than me and recognize when my wisdom is obsolete.” ~Robert Kiyosaki

This is one of those days where the quote says it all, and I should just leave well enough alone… but you know I can’t do that.  I will, however, leave the first part of the quote alone, as it does say it all (respect the younger people’s ideas).

Understanding when your wisdom is obsolete is the harder part of this quote, for me.  I think it can only come with humility, a concept that I have struggled with for a long time.  My personality is one that likes to win.  I like to be right.  I love offering a solution that a co-worker hadn’t thought of.  Being “a bright idea guy” is fun.  However, like I said, I’m continuing to work on it.  I try to hold my tongue and let the folks at the table work through ideas.  I try hard to let them run with their idea, even if I think there’s a different (maybe better) way to do it (as long as the consequences of being wrong aren’t terminal).  So, as we continue to work at listening to others, and understanding that we may not always have the right answer, we should also recognize that nobody is perfect (or perfectly humble).

Speaking of obsolete…

evehicle

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

