The immortality of Leadership

8 05 2015

“Live so that when the final summons comes you will leave something more behind than an epitaph on a tombstone or an obituary in a newspaper.” ~Billy Sunday

If I’m very lucky, there might be something on my tombstone that references “leader”, but that will be up to those who chisel into the granite, and what they’re told to put there (If it costs by the letter, then it will probably be competing with a 4-letter word or 2 🙂 ).  Even if I’m that lucky, that one word will hopefully not be near enough to cover what I am trying to accomplish.  I try to lead my friends at the river for Salmon fishing every fall.  I try to show my daughter how she can be a leader among her peers, and I try to be a one of the voices of leadership in our larger family discussions.  (Notice I didn’t say I was the leader at home – I try to keep these in the neighborhood of truthful!). I add some leadership on the boards that I serve, and the pro-bono work that I do for other small non-profits.

Then there’s this comic and the work I do here at ClearPoint.  I hope that each of you can take at least one lesson, tip, or way of dealing with adversity, and add it to your own leadership tool bag.  From there, pay it forward.  Teach your team your own leadership tricks, and ask THEM to pay it forward.  A whole gaggle of leaders, with different bits of my leadership philosophy out there, mutating it to fit their own style as they go.  That, my friends, is true immortality.

Hopefully that didn’t come across as too morbid for this happy Friday, cuz it doesn’t feel that way in here *thumps chest*.

Speaking of obit…

obit2

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

One response

8 05 2015
Allie Vered

Strange timing of this one. A friend of mine from high school’s sister, a well-loved nurse, committed suicide on Sunday. Funeral was yesterday. I have been reading the condolences all week. Heartbreaking. Everyone saw her as a leader and the pillar of strength. She was young, beautiful, a patient advocate. No one knew she was suffering. I kept thinking how useless the sentiments felt. I realize they help people and the family, but it is so hard to process that words just feel cold. Watching my friend carry the weight of his parents’ grief, doing all the planning, leading everyone through it. Really hard.

Leave a Reply

