The train wreck of blind dedication

2 07 2015

(Yes, I know its Thursday, but it’s the beginning of the long weekend!)

“The man who lets a leader prescribe his course is a wreck being towed to the scrap heap.” ~ Ayn Rand

So, now you’re probably scratching your head and thinking “But Jim, you’re always talking about how good leadership is!”.  Yes, Leadership is good, but blind obedience to, or dependence on leadership makes you worthless to my team.  Sitting around waiting for your leader to burst in and solve all your problems is not what I’m looking for in a leader on my team.

In the last few months, I’ve said to several of my team members “Run your division like you are the CEO of it!”  My job, as their leader is to help pave the way, by clearing obstacles that I have the clout to remove, and that they might struggle with.  I’m here to provide the resources you need to get the job done, not do the job for you.  So, use your leaders for insight, advice, or by bouncing your ideas for your direction of travel by them.  Don’t expect them to then say, OK, that’s a good direction, let me take you there.  A good leader will arm you with the knowledge and resources you need, then point in the direction you suggest (maybe tweak it a bit, based on their experience) and then say “I’ll meet you there”.

Speaking of (an impending train) wreck…  I’d love to see the next slide of the cartoon, where the bull’s horns are locked upright, and he’s spinning around – or does he just face-plant?   It’s like a bonus cartoon physics Friday – right up there with Wiley Coyote hovring in mid air off the cliff for a few seconds!  😀

wreck

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

