Happy Bonehead Friday

10 07 2015

“Honesty is the first chapter in the book of wisdom” ~ Thomas Jefferson

I’ll be honest.  Today, I am a bonehead – but I’ll be a little wiser today than I was yesterday.  I knew (yesterday) I had a doctor’s appt today at 9am, and I was planning to work from home, then either telecommute or come into the office afterwards.  Then I woke up and thought “It’s casual-jeans-day Friday!” and jumped up into my jeans and drove downtown – bright eyed and bushy tailed, ready to walk around the office saying “Happy Friday!” to all you great folks.  Then I logged in, opened my calendar for the day, and banged my head against my desk, because now I get to turn around and drive back to the suburbs!

The leadership lesson here is to not let enthusiasm push you out of your game plan.  ALMOST every morning, the first thing I do is turn off the alarm clock, and check my work calendar on the iPhone.  This tells me how I have to dress, and allows me to get my head in the game for whatever meetings are coming.  Today, I was so psyched to throw on blue jeans that I got out of my rhythm, and now I get to make 2 hellish commutes in 3 hours.  So, find hightly effective habits that work for you, and stick with them.  I’m going to be more likely next time to REMEMBER to check the calendar.  These habits shouldn’t be the “rut that you live in”, but they should give some structure, and build some efficiency around the workday that throws something new at you every day.  This is me celebrating my mistakes, in the hope that you don’t have to make it to learn from it.  HAPPY FRIDAY!

Speaking of honesty…

honestea

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

