The first steps toward legendary status.

13 07 2015

“One good teacher in a lifetime may sometimes change a delinquent into a solid citizen” ~ Philip Wylie

Before my Uncle Brian became my legal guardian at 15 years old, I was on a collision course with all sorts of delinquent unsavoriness.  I won’t get into details, but it’s safe to say I was headed for a either a criminal record, or a single-wide trailer in the middle of nowhere with 5 kids and a lame job by the time I would have hit 20 years old without his care and tough love.  The same could be said for one Major who took me under his wing when I was in the Army.  I saw plenty of mediocre at best leaders when I was serving, then one fantastic leader showed me what leadership was all about, and set me on my current path towards being a “solid citizen” in the civilian world.

Don’t underestimate the impact that you might have on someone on your team, leaders.  You could easily end up as someone’s “mentor” down the road.  You could be the person that they write daily comics about in 20 years 🙂 – but only if you go above and beyond what’s required by your job.  You can’t “mail in” greatness.  You won’t be a legend by “meeting expectations”.  It’s excellence, tough love, commitment and showing them that you genuinely care about them that might move you (or me) into the realm of legendary.  I know that I’ve got a long way to go, myself, but I do think that I’ve got my head around the first few steps in that direction.  Whether you choose to work that hard or not is, as always, your choice.

Speaking of delinquent…

chrlie dliq

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

