You’re great. Pass it on.

15 07 2015

“Outstanding leaders go out of their way to boost the self-esteem of their personnel.  If people believe in themselves, it’s amazing what they can accomplish.” ~ Sam Walton

I once had a squad of Marines that worked with my brother come to my house for a weekend of Nascar racing and some “paintball combat” in my woods.  They insisted on being a team, and promised that they would take it easy on us “old, slow, fat guys” (we were all military veterans of one sort or antoher).  After wiping them out easily for 3 matches straight, one of them had a melt-down, and thretened to shove his paintball gun “into one of the old, slow fat guy’s orfices”.  In an effort to keep everyone’s orfices free of metal, I suggested we change up teams, so that we had blended teams of Marines and veterans.  The veterans then showed the Marines the differences betweeen combat with an M-4 and a paintball gun.  We weren’t better warriors than them, we just knew how to use the tools properly – and knew the terrain better.  The weekend was salvaged, and we had a blast.  Around post-paintball beers, I had a conversation with one of the guys whose job was “Marine Communication”.  When I asked him what that meant, he tapped on my shoulder, and whispered in my ear“You’re dead… pass it on”.  It’s possibly one of the funniest job descriptions I’ve ever heard.  So today I’m going to do a little “Leadership Communication”:

My team of leaders is outstanding!  I can only hope that once a month or so, a few of you will learn something from these daily comic posts.  Most of the time, I learn from you more than I teach you.  I can’t tell you how proud I am to have the team of leaders working with me that I do.  I have the best job in the world!  Today’s lesson delivered.  Best wishes to you all.  Thank you for all the fantastic work that you do.  Pass it on.

I sincerely hope you’re smiling now.  If not, today’s cartoon should do it!  Speaking of self-esteem…

selfesteem

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

