If you don’t ask, you don’t get to whine.

20 07 2015

“At the end of the day, you are solely responsible for your success and your failure.  The sooner you realize that, and integrate that into your work ethic, you will start being successful.  As long as you blame others for the reason you aren’t where you want to be, you will always be a failure. ” ~Erin Cummings

Well, there’s your cheery thought for a Summertime Monday!  Suck it up, buttercup, your success or failure totally depends on you, so quit yer whining.

OK, I don’t believe that for a minute.  The last question I ask my team in coaching every month is “What resources do you need to achieve the expected results?”  If you tell me nothing, and then you fail, well – see the quote above.  If, however, you tell me you need a resource to get it done, and I don’t provide it to you, then it’s on me.  I may tell you that we can’t afford to get you the resource you need, but when I do, I will also tell you why you can’t have it, and we’ll then have to re-set our expectations based on the lack of resources at hand.

Speaking of Responsibility…

MeowGulpa

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

3 responses

20 07 2015
mumbaslife

I wish success was entirely depend on your skills and hard work you put in. But that’s not true. You need resources as you pointed out , little bit of luck and lot more.

1 09 2016
Kate

So true. I do think people like to blame externals — myself included — when discouraged, but sometimes the externals are the culprit. To be fair to Ms. Cummings, she said this in the context of breaking down doors in acting, and she also said her goal was never to be a “star,” just a working actor. I’m not sure it was meant as an expansive take on the universe at large and all the people in it.

2 09 2016
krazjim

I agree that Ms. Cummings didn’t mean it that way. Having to do one of these every day for the leaders in my organization means starting with the daily cartoon, from my friend Leigh Rubin. From there, I search for a quote that gets my creative juices flowing, so I can put out 2 short paragraphs of my own thoughts on leadership. The quote is just a jumping-off point for my own blathering. I often go off on a tangent, or even in the opposite direction of the quote’s intent. Thanks for your attention and comments. Happy Friday! I get 2 days off from the blog (which I only make public when my internal company one is generic enough to not give away any company “secret sauce” – so not every day gets posted here.

Leave a Reply

