How to build the next generation of leaders.

22 07 2015

“I’ve learned that people will forget what you said, people will forget what you did, but people will never forget how you made them feel. ~ Maya Angelou

“Tell me and I forget.  Teach me and I remember.  Involve me and I learn.“ ~ Benjamin Franklin

We’ve got 2 good quotes today, and as a leader, I’ve got to wonder what the best way is to make a solid impression on my team of leaders.  Sure, I can send out a written daily comic for you to read, but if the quotes above are to be believed, you’ll forget.  I can walk the floors, and get face time with the staff, and chat with you about leadership theories, and maybe you’ll remember the message that I’m trying to convey.

I find that I can talk you through a new process, and get nods and affirmations, but until you do it yourself, and learn what works and what doesn’t, you won’t be able to reliably repeat it.  When you’re working on succession management initiatives (i.e. building new leaders), have your team step up and do the job for you occasionally.  If you run a regular meeting, have them run the meeting.  If you’ve got regular reports to run, have them run the reports a few times per year.  When they succeed at it, spend that extra little bit of time to thank them, and tell them about the good job they did.  Make them laugh, make them proud, tell them a story about something you did (right or wrong), and what you learned from it.  In short, make them feel something about the task at hand, and they’ll be sure to remember not only the task, but that you care.

Speaking of forgetting…

forgetcripe

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

