A broken digital clock may not be right twice per day

7 08 2015

“The role of a creative leader is not to have all the ideas; it’s to create a culture where everyone can have ideas and feel they are valued.” ~ Ken Robinson

Well, it’s a good thing for me that my team isn’t sitting around waiting for me to have a brilliant idea!  While I do occasionally get lucky, and have an idea that solves whatever issue we’re dealing with, you my fellow leaders know that I’ll throw out 19 bad ideas for every 5% lucky hit.  Even a broken clock is right twice per day, unless it has AM & PM indicator on it, then it’s only right once per day, unless it’s a digital clock with a dead battery and the screen goes blank – then… never mind. 🙂

I KNOW that my team has a way better “idea average” than I do, because I am certain that I don’t shoot down 19 out of 20 ideas that my team brings to me.  In fact, it may only be that 5% of th time I’m the one saying “no, that won’t work, because X” or “yeah, I had that idea a few months ago, and Y happened because of it, so watch out”.  Most of the time, my team members come to me and I say “Cool idea!  I wish I thought of it”.  So, I guess I’m doing something right, as my team rocks out loud, and while we are all occasionally wrong together, we’re right a whole lot more than not (and I do try to give credit to the genius of the day).  It’s a pleasure working with you all, and happy Friday!

Speaking of culture…

yellowball

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

