“My way or the highway” might have you traveling sooner than you thought!

12 08 2015

“Breaking up is a natural evolution when you try to figure out what you want in life.  If you’re with an individual who isn’t moving in the same direction and at the same rate that you are, it ain’t going to work.” ~ Usher

Please forgive the “ain’t” above, as well as the fairly narrow view of what a relationship is by Usher.  I still like his music, but disagree with the degree, if not the direction of his thoughts on relationships.  I feel like it would be very difficult to remain married for 22 years, as I am, If I my wife and I didn’t occasionally pursue different directions, and sometimes at “different rates” than the other.  She’s got her hobbies, I have mine, and we still are moving through life together.

If you’re in a position of authority, and you’re always saying “it’s my way or the highway”, you’re going to have high turnover, and those that stay are going to be little Mini-You’s.  You’ll have a homogeneous management team such that, when a problem comes up that you can’t solve, it’s very likely that neither will anyone else on your team.  Building a heterogeneous team, with different strengths and experience, can almost guarantee that when the poop hits the fan, someone on your diverse team will say “Oh yeah, I’ve seen that before, and here’s how we fixed it.”  Play to THEIR strengths, and use your weaknesses to determine who to add to your team.

Speaking of evolution…

evolvefish

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

2 responses

12 08 2015
Epi B

I totally agree with you on the relationship thong, all though I do know what usher means. Trying to make something work with someone who is not communicating or thinking on your wavelength, is a waste of time. Even if your partner checks all the right boxes in theory, there’s no use in forcing things of it doesn’t feel right. And why people stay together despite being miserable most of the time, is beyond me.

13 08 2015
krazjim

I concur. My method is to pick a quote about something in the day’s comic, then find a way to talk about leadership based on the quote. There were a lot of “evolution” quotes, but I steer clear of religion and politics for this blog, usually. Thanks for the like!

Leave a Reply

