Die and re-spawn running

19 08 2015

“The future rewards those who press on.  I don’t have time to feel sorry for myself.  I don’t have time to complain.  I’m going to press on.” ~Barack Obama (Since I used a Trump comment yesterday, I figured I’d even out the political scales.)

I do some online shoot-em-up gaming on franchises like Call of Duty and Halo.  Yeah, I’m a video game geek.  In these games, I’ll be running along somewhere and get blown up from out of the blue.  When that happens, I “re-spawn” somewhere else on the map, and keep on running & gunning.  These “die and re-spawn running” moments create virtual resilience, and might just give some insight into leadership.

While failure in business rarely means death, it can often be a morale or confidence crushing experience.  You put your heart and soul into something, lobby for it, convince others of your idea, then it doesn’t work.  Failures like this might make you gun-shy, and steer you away from the next huge possibility, and you might lower your risk tolerance and avoid new challenges.  Well, Don’t!  if you have achieved this level of leadership in your career by taking risks and creating innovative and successful initiatives in the past, then swim-move past the failure, learn from it, and move on.  Don’t get into a rut, because that rut might stymie any upward mobility more than the failure that put you there did.  Now, if you fail at 5 new things in a row… that might be a different conversation. 🙂

Speaking of press…

presson

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

