Brevity & Flexibility

3 09 2015

“Blessed are the flexible, for they shall never get bent out of shape.” ~Gumby (I think)

I was recently helping a friend get ready for a job interview, and I asked her what 3 things she does really well.  She ended up talking for a REALLY long time without saying anything.  When she was done, I rolled my eyes, and asked her “So, what 3 things do you do really well?”  Sometimes people try to fill the air with sound, while saying nothing.

Because she’s a friend, and it wasn’t a real job interview, she said “OK, [expletive], what 3 things do you do really well?!?!”  I told her: 1. I build a great team where great people thrive, and low performers leave.  2. We’re flexible enough to get the job done no matter what.  Mission accomplished on-time and under budget.  3. We have fun.  I don’t care how you dress, when you work, where you work from, as long as we get the job done right.

She replied “Oh”.  I think she got the brevity point, too.

Speaking of Gumby…

Gumby

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

