If you can’t sell it yourself, your team won’t either

1 10 2015

“We are all in the business of sales.  Teachers sell students on learning, parents sell their children on making good grades and behaving, and traditional salesmen sell their products.” ~ Dave Ramsey

Just a few minutes before I started on the comic, I sent an e-mail to many of the leaders on my team pointing out that I expect even more “entrepreneurialism” in 2016.  In other words, we don’t just want our business development and grant teams to go out and make sales next year.  I want our team leads to be ready to sell their own products and services, as we should all be salespeople for what we do, and who we are.

Leaders, you’re not going to convince your teams to sell our services if you’re not showing them that you’d buy the services yourselves.  I just came back from a conference of our peers, and you can be sure that I was talking up what we do, and the way that we do it!  I got lots of post-meeting questions about our best practices, and requests for business cards.  It felt good to have people want to be more like us!  We are, after all, the cream of the crop!  (See how I just sold you on that?  🙂 )

Speaking of traditional…

BobAlient

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

