My oxymoronic pet peeve

16 11 2015

“I believe alien life is quite common in the universe, although intelligent life is less so.  Some say it has yet to appear on planet Earth.” ~ Stephen Hawking

Those that know me know that I’m probably not anywhere near the top of the “dressed to the nines” bell curve.  I like to dress casually when the situation allows (i.e. every day that we’re not hosting VIP’s), and have people judge me not by what I’m wearing, but by what I’m doing.  I want to be judged by the quality of my ideas and by the amount of my contributions in the business world.

Here’s one of my “pet peeves” though:  For whatever reason, while I don’t care about your fashion sense, or the quality or cut of your clothes, I DO care about the quality of your ideas, and how you express them.  That’s why I cringe when people speak unprofessionally about business ideas.  Whether it’s using slang, or using poor grammar or diction, your poor word choice immediately reflects poorly on the quality of your ideas.  When that same lack of professional communication goes outside the organization, it then reflects poorly on our organization.  So, dress for success when meeting with those VIP’s.  Otherwise, dress within the dress code.  That same slack does not apply to speaking for success.  Your communication should be professional internally AND externally.  Sorry, that’s what you get for me being married to an English major.

Speaking of planets…

AlienGod

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

