Living the Gnarly Lifestyle.

29 02 2016

“Surfing makes me happy, so that’s just what I’m going to keep doing.” ~Alana Blanchard

In the summer after graduating High School, and the next one after my Freshman year of college, I lived in Ocean City, Maryland.  In these summers, I landed jobs that had hours that were conducive to watching the sun rise over the ocean.  My workday looked like this:  Work the cash register at a gas station from 5pm until 2am.  Get dinner and hang out with fellow night-lifers from 2am until about 5am.  Go to the beach (if not raining) and catch waves for a few hours while the sun comes up.  Meditate for a bit, then roll into a blanket on the beach, and sleep until it was noonish.  Wake up, get lunch and catch more waves.  Go back to my apartment, shower up, and go to work.  Lather, rinse, repeat until fall.  I can’t tell you how much fun those summers were (But I just tried!).

Surfing and swimming with the morning dolphins made me happy, so I just kept doing it (still do, when I can get to waves).  I found a job that suited my lifestyle, and paid the bills.  Leaders, keep that lesson in mind.  At the very least, do what makes you happy when you punch out and head to whatever home means for you.  On the other hand, if you can find happiness in what you get paid to do, then do that, too!  Loving a job is like double-dipping into the happiness bowl of life.  When that happens, it’s totally gnarly, dude!

Speaking of surfing…

SurfShark

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

