Honest words, actions, and body language

11 03 2016

“With me, what you see is what you get.  Yes, call me naïve, but I love life!  I am happy, and for that, I make no apologies.  I do like to see the best in people, and when someone is nice to my face, I tend to believe them.” ~Joyce Giraud (… until they give me reason not to believe them, then I will eviscerate them ~ Jim Craig corollary).

You would think that the child of deaf parents and the Deaf culture that they lived and played in would be better at hiding my feelings, but I’m just the opposite.  In the deaf community, so much communication is non-verbal, that I can’t just turn it off.  That’s good and bad.  It’s good in that you will almost always know what I’m thinking. When I have a problem with you, I tell you.  When I’m going to disagree with you in a meeting, I try to give you a heads up so you can prepare a rebuttal.  On the other hand, don’t have me at the table when negotiations are happening, as they’ll know when we hit our bottom line.  🙂

The additional corollary added by me is because I try to give everyone the benefit of the doubt.  When they let me down, by back-stabbing me… I do not forgive, nor forget.  I make it my life’s mission to make their life miserable.  Is today’s leadership blog advice on how to be as a leader?  I don’t know, it’s just how I am.  Should you be forthright and honest as a leader?  Heck yeah, but you should probably be a better negotiator than I am, too… Take what you want from this, and leave the rest, for it is FRIDAY!

Speaking of face…

warthogface

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

