A little advice from Dr. King

14 03 2016

“I have decided to stick with love.  Hate is too great a stick to bear.” ~ Reverend Doctor Martin Luther King, Jr.

I’ll take the spirit of the Reverend’s quote (since it fit with the comic) to do a little back-tracking.  I got plenty of feedback (some good, some bad) from last Friday’s quote, when I said I would “spend my life making (a back-stabber’s) life miserable”.  Clearly, I was exaggerating just a bit.  First of all, I’m not going to waste my time and energy (i.e. spend my life) on someone who disappointed me.  Second, replace “miserable” with “uncomfortable”.  It was Friday, and I was trying to close out the lesson quickly, as my in-box was full.

When people do something devious, make it uncomfortable for them.  If they do it again, make it more uncomfortable.  Sooner or later, they’ll be too uncomfortable to do it again, or they’ll leave.  This is also in relation to those above you and beside you on the chain of command.  For those that work for you, you need a different attitude.  They need to be talked to, gently reminded about the protocol, and coached towards better behavior.  If you think you should spend your workdays making your employees lives miserable, then you’re not doing what we pay you to do.

Speaking of stick (figures)…

StickFig

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

