What’s will you put on the day’s tombstone?

2 05 2016

“Every day you wake up is an opportunity to go beyond, and that’s why I let my band go right now.  For the first time in my life I’m just roaming around, vagabonding.” ~ Carlos Santana

When I wake up every workday, I look at my calendar and see what I have to do that day.  Then I think about my workday and wonder what I CAN do that day that’s not on the calendar.  It’s likely something that was tickling the back of my brain while dreaming, but might just be a random goal for the workplace.  This gives me the kick-start that I need to get out of bed in the 5 o’clock hour, and face the earliest tail of Atlanta traffic.

Leaders, I urge you to come up with something that you can put on the workday’s tombstone at the end of the day.  Not “I sat in on 5 meetings, and I didn’t organize any of them”- that’s reactive.  What can you do today that at the end of the day, when asked how your day was, you can smile, and say “I woke up, and decided to do X, and then I did it”.  Even if you didn’t succeed, you decided to TRY something new, and you can talk about that attempt and/or success.

Speaking of roaming…

roamasaur

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

