What’s your leadership signature look like?

4 05 2016

“Every person has a signature. Just some people don’t know it yet.” ~Rita Ora

“A signature always reveals a man’s character – and sometimes even his name.” ~Evan Esar

I’ve been told that my signature looks like a stick-figure representation of a seagull in flight.  It might have something to do with how much I love the Ocean, or maybe it’s just a squiggly, but it’s interesting to contemplate the quotes above.  Away from work, my signature would be that of the guy who is a live-and-let-live sorta guy, until someone gets rude, or disrespectful to someone they think they can push around.  Then I’m the guy in the crowd that people’s heads swivel to, forcing me to go up to the 7 foot bodybuilder and tells him to settle down, and apologize to the lady for their disrespect (for example).  It hasn’t got me pounded into paste (yet), and has generally made me more friends than enemies.  I just can’t abide people being disrespectful just because they’re the biggest/loudest bully in a group.

What’s your leadership signature legacy going to be?  When people look back over their career, and your name comes up, what is the look on their face going to be?  Are they going to smile, and look back fondly on how you were fair, but firm?  Are they going to talk about how your “tough love” made them a better leader?  Or, are they going to get a nasty look on their face, and talk about what a pushover you were, or how you were mean and incompetent?  I know what I’d prefer – and know that it takes more work if I want their memory to be a good one.

Speaking of signatures…

signapasta

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

