Trust your leadership gut.

20 05 2016

“It’s so much easier to like people, and to let people in, to trust them until they prove that you should do otherwise.  The alternative is being an iceberg.” ~ Taylor Swift

Over the years, my wife has pointed out that I have a thing for picking out the bad people, or seeing those of ill intent, long before other people catch on.  She’s said that when I make a determination that I don’t like someone, there’s not much they can do to change my mind.  I’m always civil to them, but they won’t be invited over again.  On the other hand, you really have to go out of your way to have me not like you.  I give everyone the benefit of the doubt, and enter all new relationships with a positive attitude.  So basically, everyone starts out with a grade of A, but once they hid C minus, they fail (i.e. prove that you should do otherwise), and RARELY can move back up to A with me.  That’s not to say I don’t forgive honest mistakes… those happen.  I just don’t forgive evil intent once I believe that’s in a person (Don’t turn your back on a snake).

Leaders, the point is that we all have a different tolerance for forgiveness and/or trust – Some people don’t let everyone start off with an A.  You may be a little more reserved and/or private, and let everyone start with a B or C, and make them work their way up to an A.  You’ll have your own personality style, but hopefully, you don’t meet strangers and immediately assume that they’re out to get you.  Paranoid leaders don’t often grow a great, diverse and successful team.  You’ve got to let enough, different types of people get “in” to grow such a team, which means stretching your definition of “good”.  That said, watch, listen, and learn about people, and if you have to shut people out, trust your gut when you do.  You got where you are with that gut.

Speaking of iceberg and the gut that got you here, I opted out of a Rubes cartoon today, because this crossed my e-mail yesterday, and felt true!…

iceberg

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

