Oh, the humanity.

24 06 2016

“People who treat other people as less than human must not be surprised when the bread they have cast on the waters comes floating back to them, poisoned.” ~ James A. Baldwin

 

I’m a politically centrist creature, choosing my issues based on individual circumstance, not strongly on any party line.  You might imagine that while hanging out in my nearby restaurant/pub, some regulars occasionally speak loudly about strongly entrenched in their political views.  While there, I sometimes hear something that is so offensive that I have to quietly challenge a person on it, and point out that what they said was pretty offensive, and I don’t want to hear that while in my “happy place”.  They almost always either laugh, or “puff up” a little bit, then look in my eyes and see that I’m serious, and usually apologize and we move on.

I’ll see these people again during future visits and other regulars might remark that they are surprised that I’m being civil to a person who I “disciplined” the last time we were together.  I point out that I believe that in this country that I served as a soldier, that everyone can think what they want, and I try hard to respect them as humans even if we disagree.  Leaders, keep that in mind when you have to discipline one of your staff for doing something that you can’t abide by.  If you handle it well, you can explain that their behavior is unacceptable, and then be polite to them going forward, as long as that behavior isn’t consistently repeated.  If it is repeated, then eventually, you’ll have to walk them to the door.  If that’s the case, you can do even that while treating them with the respect they deserve as fellow humans.

Speaking of floating…

floatingbook

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

