Limping to success.

26 08 2016

“Be brave.  Take risks.  Nothing can substitute experience.” ~ Paulo Coelho

“The best substitute for experience is being 16.” ~ Raymond Duncan

I talk a lot in this forum about mistakes creating experience, and experience creating wisdom. What I don’t recall talking about is how exciting it is when given a task that you may indeed fail at, but you are trusted to take on.  That “wow, look what I get to try!” feeling that comes with leadership.  We’re given a task that has NEVER been done (in our experience), and has no rule book, or procedure manual, and we get to just… figure it out.  How cool is that?!?!

Leaders, remember that feeling when you give someone some leadership task to figure out.  Understand that they may not get it right the first time.  When (if) they don’t get it right, encourage them!  They tried, maybe they need to tweak their approach, but seriously… how cool must it be for them to be asked to just “figure it out”?  I admit I take most out-of-the-blue tasks for granted these days, but today’s quote reminded me of just how cool it was the first time my Sergeant told me to take 6 soldiers with me into the woods, and “go raid the red team’s stuff”.  Could I have done better?  Maybe.  Did we raid their stuff and end up high-fiving (and limping) all the way back to camp – Oh, Yeah!

Speaking of substitutes…

MeatSub

Rubes cartoons used with permission. www.rubescartoons.com

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

